Skip to Content Top

How Long Do I Have to File My Lemon Law Claim?

Alarm clock in front of yellow background

If you have a car giving you problems, you may wonder if it qualifies as a lemon. Under California lemon law, specific requirements must be met for a vehicle to be considered a lemon. If your car meets these requirements, you have limited time to file a claim. Our California lemon law team outlines the statute of limitations when filing a lemon law claim as well as when the clock starts ticking.

Lemon Law Claims Have a Time Limit

If your vehicle is still under warranty, the California Lemon Law applies. In addition, it does not stipulate that the repairs must be done within the first 18 months or 18,000 miles after purchase.

Lemon law claims can only be filed within a certain period of time after the issue is discovered. These time limits do not vary. There is a four-year statute of limitations for filing a lemon law claim in California. If you claim the car qualifies for a lemon law settlement, you must file a lawsuit within that timeframe.

To calculate when your four-year California lemon law statute of limitations expires, you must know when it begins. Vehicle manufacturers usually claim that the warranty begins at the time of purchase or at the time of the down payment. However, the California court ruled that it starts from the latest warranty repair.

When Does This California Lemon Law Time Limit Begin?

There is a common misconception among consumers that the statute of limitations begins when you buy the vehicle, but this is different! When the defect is discovered, the California lemon law time limit begins. Once you discover the non-conformity cannot be repaired, the clock starts ticking.

How We Can Help

Understanding California's lemon law time limits can be complicated. That is why the team at O’Connor Law Group, P.C. is here to help you. Our attorneys have experience with California's Lemon Law and can guide you through the process of filing a claim. With our years of legal experience, we are committed to defending your rights and helping you get the compensation you deserve.

Contact us by calling (949) 390-9695 or fill out our online contact form.