If you purchased or leased a used vehicle, you might wonder how new your car must be to qualify for California lemon law. California lemon law helps you recover the compensation you deserve if you purchased or leased a vehicle that’s defective after multiple repair attempts. Our team at O’Connor Law Group, P.C. explains how old your car can be to qualify for lemon law.
How Old Does My Car Need to Be to Qualify for Lemon Law?
To qualify for California lemon law, your used vehicle must have fewer than 18,000 miles or be under 18 months old to be eligible for the state’s lemon law. However, that isn’t the only qualification needed for California lemon law protection. Your vehicle must also fit the following requirements:
The manufacturer must make two or more attempts to repair a warranty problem that could result in death or serious injury
The manufacture must attempt to repair the vehicle at least four times
The car has been out of service for more than a total of 30 days due to the warranty problem repairs. However, problems could not have been caused because of the owner’s abuse of the vehicle or other alterations.
How to File a Lemon Law Claim
If you believe you meet all of the requirements listed above, you may be entitled to compensation. The first thing you should do to start your lemon law claim is contact an experienced lemon law attorney. Our team at O’Connor Law Group, P.C. has helped car buyers, and lenders across California recover all expenses related to their car defects and get their vehicle replaced or refunded. We have the knowledge, skills, and experience needed to help you achieve your desired results.
Contact our California lemon law attorneys today at O’Connor Law Group, P.C. to schedule a consultation!